Blog Post

Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize 2019

Call for Submissions

Committee 2019:

Ruth Hagengruber (Paderborn University)
Sarah Hutton (University of York)
Sabrina Ebbersmeyer (University of Copenhagen)
Herta Nagl-Docekal (University of Vienna)

The Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize is a prize that celebrates the long history of women in philosophy. The prize is named in honour of the philosopher Elisabeth of Bohemia and is awarded to an internationally recognized philosopher for outstanding services to research on women in the history of philosophy. The Elisabeth von Bohemia Prize is the first prize awarded to acknowledge the history of women philosophers. The prize is donated by Ulrike Detmers, professor for economy at the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences and includes prize money of 3000€.

This year, the Center for the History of Women Philosophers and Scientists celebrates the centenary of women’s right to vote in Europe. Therefore, the Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize will be awarded to a scholar working on a woman in the history of philosophy who dedicated her life to the fight for women’s equality. Recommendations on worthy candidates are welcome, you can either suggest yourself or someone else.

Please hand in applications including:

· a CV (no more than 2 pages)
· a list of relevant publications (books, articles, essays etc.)
· up to 3 sample works (from the publications, in pdf format)


Submission deadline: May 30, 2019.

The award ceremony will take place at Paderborn University during the Libori Summer School 2019, July 29 – August 2, 2019. More information can be found here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts