2001 minutes

Meeting Minutes

General Membership Meeting of the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women, at the Sixteenth Century Studies Conference, Denver Marriott City Center, October 25, 2001.

Submitted by Mary Ellen Lamb.

President Carole Levin opened the meeting at 6:00, following the EMW reception, with a welcome to members and an introduction of officers. The minutes were distributed and approved, as the memorial red book was circulated for the signatures of members in attendance.

President Levin then proceeded with her report. She announced that the 2002 meeting of EMW will convene at the next Sixteenth Century Studies Conference, at San Antonio, Texas, October 24-27. The 2003 meeting will convene with the Attending to Early Modern Women Conference in College Park, Maryland, November 6-8. EMW will sponsor sessions at both meetings, and Carole invited members to discuss ideas for sessions with the Vice President, Margaret Hannay. President Levin also directed attention to the table at the back of the room, where dues were being collected. She urged members to renew membership during or after this meeting. President Levin announced a reception sponsored by Ashgate Publishing on Saturday evening.

Vice-President Margaret Hannay reported on sessions sponsored by EMW at Sixteenth Century Studies Conference, the Renaissance Society of America, the Medieval Congress in Kalamazoo, Michigan, Modern Language Association (where EMW has applied for Allied Organization status). Members of EMW have organized sessions on “Editing Early Modern Women Writers” at three conferences for the Renaissance English Text Society. The detailed list of papers and presenters at these sessions will be available shortly on the EMW website. She advised members to be alert for calls for papers on the EMW listserve.

President Levin presented the Treasurer’s report for Susanne Woods. Details are available to members by contacting members of the exectuive board. Karen Nelson gave a brief listserve report. Our new listserve this fall will be: emw-l@ listserv.umd.edu. To subscribe, send e-mail to LISTSERV@ UMDD.UMD.EDU with the message SUBSCRIBE EMW-L YOUR NAME (first and last names only). The listserve has been active this year, with its calls for papers and announcements of new publications by its members.

Secretary Mary Ellen Lamb gave a brief website report for Sheila ffolliott. The current website is http://chnm.gmu.edu/emw/#. This website represents a valuable resource for information about EMW sessions and conferences, EMW awards, EMW officers, and other matters of interest to members.

Lena Orlin presented a report for the Nominating Committee. The committee is still welcoming nominations, including self-nominations, for the awards committee, the nominating committee, and the executive board. Names may be submitted to Lena Orlin by e-mail at orlin@umbc.edu. Jane Couchman presented a report for the Awards Committee. This year, the committee considered fifty items altogether. This year’s committee did not take on responsibility for nominations for awards, but encouraged nominations, including self-nominations, from members outside the committee. This meeting is the first time awards were presented to graduate student papers. President Levin read the commendations written by the committee as she presented a certificate and EMW paperweight for each award. Those are listed at EMW Awards.

President Levin gave an award of special recognition to Merry Weisner, as past president of EMW.

There was no old business. There was no new business. The meeting adjourned at about 7:15.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.